Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Neuroscientists won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Medicine

The 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is awarded to John O’Keefe, and the married couple May-Britt Moser, and Edvard I. Moser on 6 October 2014, for their discovery of an “inner GPS” in the brain that enables our navigation of ways through a complex environment, demonstrating a cellular basis for higher cognitive function.

Read the key publications:
O'Keefe J, Dostrovsky J. The hippocampus as a spatial map. Preliminary evidence from unit activity in the freely-moving rat. Brain Research. 1971;34(1):171-175. doi:10.1016/0006-8993(71)90358-1
O´Keefe J. Place units in the hippocampus of the freely moving rat. Experimental Neurology. 1976;51(1):78-109. doi:10.1016/0014-4886(76)90055-8
Hafting T, Fyhn M, Molden S, Moser MB, Moser EI. Microstructure of spatial map in the entorhinal cortex. Nature. 2005;436(7052):801-806. doi:10.1038/nature03721
Sargolini F, Fyhn M, Hafting T, McNaughton BL, Witter MP, Moser MB, Moser EI. Conjunctive representation of position, direction, and velocity in the entorhinal cortex. Science. 2006;312(5774):758-762. doi:10.1126/science.1125572

No comments:

Post a Comment