Thursday, October 6, 2016

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2016

Source: Nobel Prize

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Yoshinori Ohsumi for his contribution in discovery of mechanisms for autophagy.

This year's Nobel Laureate discovered and elucidated mechanisms underlying autophagy, a fundamental process for degrading and recycling cellular components.  

Key publications: 

Takeshige K, Baba M, Tsuboi S, Noda T, Ohsumi Y. (1992). Autophagy in yeast demonstrated with proteinase-deficient mutants and conditions for its induction. Journal of Cell Biology. 1992;119: 301-311.

Tsukada M, Ohsumi Y. Isolation and characterization of autophagy-defective mutants of Saccharomyces cervisiae. FEBS Letters. 1993;333:169-174. DOI: 10.1016/0014-5793(93)80398-E

Mizushima N, Noda T, Yoshimori T, Tanaka Y, Ishii T, George MD, et al. (1998). A protein conjugation system essential for autophagy. Nature. 1998;395:395-398. DOI: 10.1038/26506

Ichimura Y, Kirisako T, Takao T, Satomi Y, Shimonishi Y, Ishihara N, et al. A ubiquitin-like system mediates protein lipidation. Nature, 2000;408:488-492. DOI: 10.1038/35044114